What Are the Common Types of Yoga?

Did you know that approximately 36 million Americans practice yoga regularly? It is recognized as one of the top forms of exercise in the world. 

Yoga is a practically ancient practice with roots in Indian philosophy. While there is more than one form of yoga you can practice, there are a few to keep in mind because they’re the most commonly known.

If you’ve been thinking about starting a yoga practice but aren’t sure which form is best for you, keep reading to find out the types of yoga.

Hatha Yoga

The hatha yoga styles are one of the most common types of yoga. It is a physical and mental discipline that includes breath control, simple meditation, and the adoption of specific bodily postures.

Ha means “sun,” and tha means “moon,” Hatha yoga intends to balance the polarities within each of us. Asanas, or yoga poses, purify the body and provide the physical strength and stamina required for long periods of meditation.

Vinyasa Yoga

This is a type of yoga that links breath and movement. The word “vinyasa” can be translated as “arranging something specially,” and each pose in a vinyasa sequence is artfully arranged so that the practitioner can move intelligently and fluidly from one to the next.

Dynamic and constantly evolving. Vinyasa yoga is sometimes called “flow yoga” because of how the poses flow together. It’s a great workout and can help you build strength and flexibility.

Bikram Yoga

This type of yoga is usually practiced in a heated room, which can help to loosen muscles and prevent injury. Bikram yoga is also known for its cardiovascular benefits, as it can help to increase heart rate and improve circulation.

Additionally, Bikram yoga can help to improve flexibility, balance, and strength.

Kundalini Yoga

This type of yoga is the belief that a kundalini, or life force, resides in the base of the spine. This kundalini is a source of spiritual energy that can be unleashed through the practice of yoga.

The benefits of yoga are to promote physical and mental well-being and can be used to achieve a variety of health benefits. That’s why if you are passionate about bringing benefits to other people becoming a yoga teacher is a good idea to try.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is a form of hatha yoga that uses eight different limbs, or steps, to help practitioners achieve inner peace.

The eight steps are Yama which means restraints, Niyama means observances, Asana means postures, Pranayama is breath control, Pratyahara means withdrawal of the senses, Dharana means concentration, Dhyana is meditation, and Samadhi that means absorption.

It is also a dynamic and physically demanding form of yoga that can be intimidating to beginners. However, with patience and practice, ashtanga yoga can be a great way to improve your physical and mental health.

Popular Types of Yoga

There are many different types of yoga, each with its own purpose and focus. However, the most common types of yoga are Hatha, Vinyasa, and Ashtanga. Yoga can be a great way to exercise, relax, and connect with your inner self.

Try out a few different types of yoga to see which one is right for you. No matter what type of yoga you choose, you are sure to benefit from its many health benefits. 

If you enjoyed this article, please take a moment to read some of our other articles.